>>Print This Page <<
Tel +44 (0) 141 271 8301
Fax +44 (0) 141 271 8354
Martyrs' School is a hidden architectural gem that deserves to be better known. It is one of the earliest buildings by Glasgow's most famous and influential architect and designer, Charles Rennie Mackintosh (1868-1928).
When the school was commissioned in 1895 Mackintosh was a junior assistant with Honeyman and Keppie, having just completed his apprenticeship. It is perhaps the first building in which his distinctive style can be recognised.
While not a museum as such, much of this magnificent example of Mackintosh's early work is open to the public, while other parts are now used as offices for Glasgow Museums staff. Inside the building you can admire the fine tile work and spectacular roof trusses. The iron work of the balconies is particularly fine. The exterior is distinguished by the balance of the walls and windows, and the detailing of the red sandstone.
Martyrsí School is situated near to both Provandís Lordship and St Mungo Museum.
No information available at this time.
For more photographs see the images page.